New Synagogue Berlin
DEUTSCHENGLISH
Arrival Date
Departure Date
Persons Check availability Reset
 Back


Distance from hotel: 5.8 km

New Synagogue

New Synagogue BerlinThe New Synagogue is located on Oranienburger Str. in Berlin Mitte and is one of the most beautiful buildings in Berlin.

The New Synagogue was consecrated on Rosh ha-Shanah in 1866. The New Synagogue, with its 3,200 seats, became the largest Jewish house of worship in Germany. Services in the New Synagogue were conducted according to the so-called New Rites and Practices, the most important indication of which was the installation of an organ. Such reforms of the service were part of the process of Jewish assimilation.

The well-known architect Eduard Knoblauch (1801-1865) found inspiration for his design in the Moorish style of the Alhambra in Granada. The dome, covered with gilded buttresses and more than 50 meters in height, was acclaimed beyond the borders of Germany for its application of the most modern construction technology.

In the Pogrom of November 1938 ("Kristallnacht"), the New Synagogue was spared major damage. During the Second World War, however, it was severely damaged by Allied bombing. In 1958 the main room of the synagogue was demolished. Only the parts of the building closest to the street remained structurally intact.

In May 1995 the building was reopened with the permanent exhibition, "Open ye the Gates".

More information under www.cjudaicum.de

Neue Synagoge in Berlin
DEUTSCHENGLISH
Anreisetag
Abreisetag
Personen Verfügbarkeit prüfen Zurücksetzen


Entfernung vom Hotel: 5,8 km

Neue Synagoge

Neue Synagoge in BerlinZu den schönsten Gebäuden Berlins gehört die Neue Synagoge in der Oranienburger Strasse in Berlin Mitte.

Zum jüdischen Neujahrsfest 1866 wurde die Neue Synagoge feierlich eingeweiht. Mit ihren 3200 Sitzplätzen war die Neue Synagoge das größte jüdische Gotteshaus Deutschlands. Der Gottesdienst in der Synagoge folgte dem sog. Neuen Ritus. Wichtigstes Indiz dafür war der Einbau einer Orgel (1868). Die Reform des Gottesdienstes war Teil des Prozesses der Assimilation der Juden.

Der berühmte Berliner Architekt Eduard Knoblauch (1801-1865) ließ sich bei seinem Entwurf von dem maurischen Stil der Alhambra in Granada inspirieren. Die von vergoldeten Rippen überzogene Kuppel war mehr als 50 Meter hoch und wurde durch die Anwendung modernster Bautechniken über die Grenzen Deutschlands hinaus berühmt.

Während des Novemberpogroms 1938 wurde die Neue Synagoge vor größeren Schäden bewahrt. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg jedoch wurde sie von Bomben schwer beschädigt. Als man später, im Jahre 1958, den Synagogenhauptraum sprengte, standen nur noch die an der Straße gelegenen Gebäudeteile. Im Mai 1995 wurde das Gebäude mit der ständigen Ausstellung "Tuet auf die Pforten" wieder geöffnet.

Weitere Informationen unter www.cjudaicum.de